Words of Encouragement

Published June 27, 2017 by Healthy Living with nature

             Si!ver Boxes

Be kind with our words


My words were harsh and hasty

And they came without a thought

Then I saw the pain and anguish

That my bitter words had brought.

Bitter words that I had spoken

Made me think back through the past;

Of how many times I’d uttered

Biting words whose pain would last.

Then I wondered of the people

I had hurt by things I said;

All the ones I had discouraged

When I didn’t use my head.

Then I thought about my own life, 

Of painful words I’ve heard

And of the times I’ve been discouraged

By a sharp and cruel word.

And now clearly I remember

All the things I might have done;

But, by awordI was discouraged

And they never were begun.

Lord, help my words be silver Boxes,

Neatly wrapped up with a bow;

That I give to all so freely,

As through each day I gladly go.

Silver Boxes full of treasure,

Precious gifts from God above;

That all the people I encounter

Might have a box of God’s own love.

                               Michael Bright

                                        1989

Taken from the book of “Silver Boxes – a gift of encouragement” by Florence Littauer.
My word for today is “WORDS!”

I plan to spend my life with a heart filled with joy and kind words.

Leave a Reply

